Once every two year all design-loving Belgians look forward to Interieur Kortrijk. As a designer myself, I’ve been very much looking forward to this event, not only because they changed the concept a bit, but also because it’s the first time ever I got the chance to display my own work.

The big XPO is kind of a must visit. Although I’m getting a bit sick of the same stories all the time. I hardly discover anything I haven’t seen before. I guess that’s part of being a fulltime design addict and a frequent blogger.

What I actually did like is the design of the fair itself. It was carefully thought true. I’m convinced this is what distinguishes Interieur 12 of the other interior fairs.  It was fun to discover all the restaurants. My favorite one is definitely the one inertly made out of cardboard.
Also the Future Primitives was a nice project. I especially like the Muller-Van Severen room, probably because of their impeccable designs.

My favorite part of the fair was the birth of the BUDA Island. All young and upcoming designers gather there to display their work.
In the BUDA tower you could discover more future primitives by Troika. I was really amazed by the beauty of light, thanks for that!
Also Piet Hein Eek and the HAY pop-store were located inside the BUDA factory A lot of pretty HAY stuff finally made it to my home, and yes, this included the most perfect pair of scissors ever!



Inside the BUDA Gallery you could discover some more young design talent such as the designers of the Concrete Diamond (i forget their namen…) and Dennis Parren.

The pop-up Interieur Bistro was located inside the BUDA factory. The bistro is a hybrid between a restraurant and a design exhibition and between a garden and a living room. It definitely was something special!

What did you think of the fair? The last weekend my ‘old’ classmates and me displayed our work at the Battle of de Invasie. It was quite an experience. Even more young designer took over the BUDA island. I’ll tell you more about that soon!

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS